Public Servlet Hosts

As some may have noticed, it can be a frustrating process trying to put servlets on the internet. Most public web hosts are happy to support CGI, ASP etc., but have little understanding of or support for servlets, despite their many claimed advantages over common perl scripts. If you know of any public web hosting companies which support servlets, please add them to the list below. If you have any experience (good or bad) with any of the hosts listed, please add a comment. Feel free to correct any information which has become out of date.


http://www.mycgiserver.com/ - Free/no ad Servlet hosting . --AngsumanChakraborty
Tri Star Web (http://www.tristarweb.com/)

Hosting Plans

Comments

After some emailing of providers a year or so ago, I opted for this company. Unfortunately, in my naivety I was misled. They claim servlet support, and while strictly true, in practice it is hardly usable on most of their hosting plans. They use Netscape Enterprise Server, which is reknowned for its out of date and buggy servlet implementation. A more reasonable servlet engine (JRun) is available, but only as an option on their most expensive hosting plan. The one saving grace of this provider is that they do allow the running of user-installed servers, so for the moment I run a pure-java open-source servlet server on an alternative port. It's a clumsy solution, though, and I'm looking to change to another provider. --FrankCarver


Host Pro (http://www.hostpro.com/)

Hosting Plans

Unix

NT


Top Choice (http://www.topchoice.com/)

Hosting Plans

Comments

The colourscheme on their homepage makes my monitor flicker and my eyes hurt. --FrankCarver


Metawerx (http://www.metawerx.com.au/)

Hosting Plans

Comments

Based in Australia and USA, but prices in USD
Global Servers a.k.a Direct Connect (http://global-servers.com/)

Hosting Plans

Extras


Electronaut (http://www.electronaut.com/)

Hosting Plans

Extras


Silicon Valley Web Hosting (http://www.svwh.net/)

Hosting Plans

Extras


cfweb aka Commercial Frenzy (http://www.cfweb.com)

Hosting Plans


Biz Net Communications, Inc (http://www.biz1.net/)

Linux

Hosting Plans

NT

Hosting Plans

Extras


Arachsys (http://www.arachsys.com/)

Hosting Plans

Extras

Note: all prices in GBP


Servlets.net (http://www.servlets.net/)

Hosting Plans


Want Java (http://www.wantjava.com/)

Hosting Plans

Extras


Forefront AB (http://www.forefront.net/)

Hosting Plans

The web site has no specific mention of Java, but it is listed on some other lists, so I've summarised it here
N-Ary Limited (http://www.n-ary.com/)

Hosting Plans


The Sphere Information Service, Inc (http://www.thesphere.com/)

Hosting Plans


Web Presence Communication, Inc (http://awebpresence.com/)

Hosting Plans

Extras


Mad Planet (http://www.madplanet.com)

Hosting Plans

This information may be out of date. The site doesn't seem to have been touched since 1998

The Reamey Technology Group (http://www.reamey.com/)

Their site says: "Coming Soon! Java Servlet and CORBA based web hosting!", although it was last modified in January 1999, so who knows?


Culturall (http://www.culturall.com)


Centralogic Corporation (http://www.centralogic.com/)


SIS Net (http://www.sis.ne.jp/)


javawebserver.com aka Platibus Software Factories Inc

Used to offer servlet hosting, but now the domain comes up unknown Does anyone w=know if they are still operating?
Nowcom (http://www.nowcom.com)

No mention of Java on their web site.
Pair Net (http://www.pairnet.com/)

Used to host servlets, but don't any more. Pity.
Atension, Inc (http://www.atension.com/)

Merged with Rare Medium inc (http://www.raremedium.com), and no longer seem to offer public servlet hosting
Horus Networks (http://www.horus-networks.com/)

Some other lists suggest these support servlets, but there's nothing on their (confused and probably out of date) web site to support this.
Eon Communications (http://www.eon.at/)

The web site is in German, and doesn't seem to give any technical details or mention Java at all. It is listed on some other lists, though.
"Space2u is a company based out of Sweden. They're running Tomcat as a ServletContainer and allows for servlets (yes, a web.xml too) and JSP's". http://www.space2u.com/

EditText of this page (last edited August 14, 2004) or FindPage with title or text search